Parking Violation Fines
Parking Violation Law
The Massachusetts General Law Chapter 90, Section 20A, C, D and E as amended provides information on motor vehicle violations and fines.
The basic fine and any additional fine(s) provided for in Sections 1, 2 and 3 hereof shall be applicable for each and every violation. Please note that all fees are subject to change, per applicable law.
|Parking Meter Violation
|Overtime Parking (except at meter)
|Not parked withing marked spaces or not at a meter
|Parking in restricted or tow away areas
|Parking in wrong direction
|Parking more than 12 inches from the curb
|Parking in taxi stand
|Improper angle parking
|Parking other than at designated space in municipal lot
|Parking on sidewalk
|Parking on crosswalk
|Parking within 20 feet of intersection
|Parking in bus stop
|Parking in front of private way or driveway
|Parking within 10 feet of fire hydrant
|Parking without leaving 10 feet of unobstructed lane
|Fire station entrance or accessibility parking violation
|Snow emergency parking violation
|Parking in or blocking fire lane
|Parking in or in front of alley
|Residential sticker parking - 1st violation
|Parking illegally in a handicapped persons zone
|Winter parking ban 13-182
|Storage parking/abandoned parking 13-185
|Residential sticker parking - 2nd + subsequent violation
Section 2: Additional Fine After 21 Days
If the basic fine provided in Section 1 above is not paid by the offender within 21 days of notice of parking violation as provided for in Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90, Section 20A, as amended, there shall be added to the basic fine an additional fine of five ($5) Dollars, for each violation, as authorized by said statute.
Section 3: Additional Fine After Notice to Registrar of Motor Vehicles
If the basic fine and any additional fine provided for in Sections 1 and 2 above is not paid by the offender before notice thereof from the Parking Clerk to the Registrar of Motor Vehicles, as provided for in Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90, Section 20A, as amended, there shall be added to the basic fine and additional fine another additional fine of five ($5) Dollars for each violation, as authorized by said statute.
If you have additional comments, questions, or concerns, please contact the Parking and Garages Department at 978-674-4014 for assistance.