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Permit Document and Information Checklist

It is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure he/she is aware of all laws, regulations and rules regarding repairs, 
renovations, alterations, demolition and new construction of any structure.  Failure to obtain proper permits or to have 
the work inspected and signed off on can result in loss of homeowner’s insurance, impact the sale or transfer of the 
property, result in the suspension or revocation of state licenses and subject the owner or contractor to fines of up to 
$1,000.  Protect yourself; obtain the proper permits and inspections.  The following are required in order to receive a 
building permit.  

All Applicants (homeowners, contractors, owner’s agents)

q Completed Building Permit Application.

q Worker’s Compensation Insurance Affidavit
 A completed and signed Commonwealth of Massachusetts Workers’ Compensation Insurance Affidavit must be submitted

with the permit application. Massachusetts General Laws chapter 152 requires all employers to provide workers’
compensation for their employees, and also states that “…every state or local licensing agency shall withhold the issuance or
renewal of a license or permit to operate a business or to construct buildings in the commonwealth for any applicant who
has not produced acceptable evidence of compliance with the insurance coverage required.”

 Unless you checked off either box #2 (that you have no employees) or box #3 (that you are homeowner doing all of the work
yourself) on the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Workers’ Compensation Insurance Affidavit, a copy of your Workers’
Compensation Insurance must be submitted.

q Solid Waste/Asbestos and Lead Affidavit Form

q Construction drawing of the proposed work
 Decks, foundations, additions, new structures, renovations, alterations, etc.)  Call Development Services if you are uncertain 

whether plans are required.

q Signage Design Plans (as applicable)

q Utility Disconnect Form (demolition only)

q U-Value Specifications (window replacements only)

q Energy Conservation Form

q Plot Plan or Mortgage Inspection Plan (attached and detached accessory structures, decks, & pools)

q Planning, Conservation, ZBA and Historic Board Approvals and Orders of Condition (as applicable)

q Plan showing signage design (as applicable)

q Engineer’s Certification Letter (Solar Permits)

q Land Board Approvals/ Conditions



q Authorization Letter
 If the property is a condominium an authorization letter is required from the  condominium association

q Dig Safe Ticket #
 A Dig Safe Ticket # must be entered into the permit application for any groundwork being conducted. Note that in MA, Dig

Safe tickets are valid for 30 days, and may be renewed with 72 hours’ notice. Please make sure to always have an active
ticket for your excavation site!

 Dig Safe is a clearinghouse that notifies participating utility companies of your plans to dig so that they may mark out the
location of their underground facilities. This is a free service, available by calling either 811 or 888-DIG-SAFE, or via
www.digsafe.com.

q Homeowner Exemption Form
 A completed and signed Homeowner Exemption Form must be submitted if the homeowner is the applicant.

q Construction Control Affidavit
 For projects that building is 35,000 cubic feet or greater

q Final Cost Affidavit

If scope of work includes fire suppression or alarm systems, a permit is also required through the Lowell Fire 
Prevention Bureau.  For more information contact 978-459-5554.

Contractors or Owner’s Agents applying for permits must also provide:

q Copy of Current MA Construction Supervisor’s License

q Copy of Current MA Home Improvement Contractor Registration (For existing owner occupied 1 – 4 family dwellings)

q Copy of Executed Contract for Services.
 A fully executed Contract for Services, signed by the contractor and the homeowner must be submitted if the contractor is

the applicant and the project cost is greater to or equal to $1,000.

 Contract must include location of work to be performed, scope of services, and value of services including cost for labor and 
materials.  Contract must have both contractor’s signature and owner’s signature. In accordance with 780 CMR 109.3, 
applications will be rejected for underestimated value of work.

q Trade License (Trades permit applications)

q Trades permit applications (electrical, gas, plumbing, and mechanical).

q Liability Insurance (Trade Permits only)

 A current and valid copy of your Liability Insurance must be submitted for all Electrical Permit-related projects.
 All other trades-related projects must indicate the type of Insurance Coverage they have on the application.
 Unless Liability Insurance has been waived by the Owner or Owner’s Agent, no permit for the performance of Plumbing/

Gas/ Electrical/ Mechanical (sheet metal) work may be issued unless the licensee has liability insurance including
“completed operation” coverage or its substantial equivalent.

http://www.digsafe.com


General Permit Information

The purpose and goal of building codes, permitting and inspections are to ensure the protection of public safety and 
health.  Codes and regulations adopted by the State and City represent the minimum standard for work being 
performed on a structure in the City of Lowell.  It is important to understand that:

1. Work must be started within six (6) months of the date that the permit is issued.  Extensions, for periods not 
exceeding six (6) months, may be granted in writing by the Building Commissioner.  If there have been changes 
in the Zoning Ordinance or Building Code prior to the extension, you will have to comply with the new 
requirements.  Once started, the work “must proceed in good faith continuously to completion so far as is 
reasonably practicable under the circumstances”, per the Building Code.

2. Permits must be posted on site with a copy of the plans and/or order of conditions from other departments, 
boards, or commissions.

3. The owner/contractor must schedule inspections with the City’s inspectors at various stages during 
construction.  It is the owner’s/contractor’s responsibility to call to make the appointment for the appropriate 
inspections.

4. Failure by the owner/contractor to schedule required inspections, the City may:

a. Require selective demolition of the work to inspect the adequacy of the work and compliance with 
applicable Codes.

b. Cite the owner and assess penalties of up to $300 per day the work remains uninspected.

c. File a complaint against the contractor with the Massachusetts Board of Professional Licensure.

d. File a criminal complaint against the owner/contractor with the appropriate court of law.  Penalties include a
fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than one year, or both, for each day the 
violation exists.




